Happy Birthday!

June 2, 2008 at 9:41 pm 8 comments

My father was 23 when I was born. He did the right (or wrong, depending on how hindsight is foresight in my life) thing and married my momma.  I was a shotgun wedding baba, but its okay – I’m cool with that, I know they loved each other very much and had done for years so it was likely the parentals would have got hitched anyway*.

He was a soldier in the army, a hard core oke who got things done.  A lot of my dad shines through in me, namely; my ability to do things really stupid and most often, senseless.  Like the time when I was 4years old and constipated, my dad knelt down in front of me and tried to teach me how to push out a putty.  He did the job so well, he sharted**.  Yup, thats my dad.  Classy.

Last year before Dad and Trace and Shlee immigrated to Oz they stayed with me in my flat for a few weeks.  It was the best bonding session I could have ever asked for, we watched black comedy flicks daily, got pickled together, had singstar compos with everyone including the neighbours, pub crawled and even went clubbing a few times.  He even stole a bloody rugby mascot tribe in his drunken state.

Its my dad’s birthday today.  I thought I would dedicate a post to him, about him, for him. Humphrey Bumphrey Da’ I hope you are enjoying it all the way in Oz. Love you madly.

He reads this blog, so be nice and wish him Humphrey Bumphrey too.

*  It helps put me to sleep at night, okay?
** Yeah, I giggled when I typed that.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

This weekend deserves a prize Bleh

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy  |  June 2, 2008 at 10:00 pm

    Humphrey Bumphrey Sheena’s dad! How is WA treating you?

    Reply
  • 2. charmskool  |  June 3, 2008 at 7:36 am

    Lucky Shebee! Your dad sounds great. Shebee’s dad: “Do have the Humphriest of Bumphreys ever there is Oz.”

    Reply
  • 3. Stef  |  June 3, 2008 at 7:42 am

    happy birthday daddy~o!!!!
    🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Tamara  |  June 3, 2008 at 8:51 am

    Happy b-day Sheena’s pa!

    Reply
  • 5. kyknoord  |  June 3, 2008 at 9:07 am

    I sincerely hope your dad didn’t show you how to use a tampon.

    Reply
  • 6. angel  |  June 3, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    happily happily happily birfdaze, shebeeliciousness’ daddy darling!
    you must be one seriously hoopy frood* to have made our darling shebee like she is!

    *yes- this is a good thing

    Reply
  • 7. Glugster  |  June 3, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Happy B-Day to Sheena’s dad!

    Reply
  • 8. shebee  |  June 3, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Thanks, fools.

    I’m told Da was given an xbox for his bday. LOL! Only my father would want something like that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Just South Africa – Photo contest

Are you a photographer? Do you think you could stand a chance of winning? Why not try your luck, you've nothing to lose! I've been asked to be one of 5 judges in Just South Africa's photography contest. I hope to see your entries there!

Sadly, I've been told money, chocolates and free internet are not allowed to affect my judging unbiased opinion. You could try anyway though... Kidding. Relax.

Be part of the SheBee FB fan page

Brick of the moment:

Please applaud:

Mark from YellowLlama who is responsible for the design of my awesome new logo, which will soon be used in a much more flattering light, on a new work-in-progress page.

Huh? What page? There is no page, nevermind. You read nothing!

Thanks again Mark :)

Win a dodgy fruit basket! [Brick of the moment]

6000 | August 28, 2008 at 12:08 pm Peel A Keys is going to struggle to score with lines like that.

Recent wall talks

RSS Blog choice of the week – I am Janel


springleap

Trigger happy?

Are you a photographer? Do you think you could stand a chance of winning? Why not try your luck, you've nothing to lose! I've been asked to be one of 5 judges in Just South Africa's photography contest. I hope to see your entries there!

Sadly, I've been told money, chocolates and free internet are not allowed to affect my judging unbiased opinion. You could try anyway though... Kidding. Relax.


